Weekly Book Rendezvous: Wednesday Edition

by Samy
12 minutes read

Weekly Book Rendezvous: Wednesday Edition – Welcome to WWW Wednesday which is a weekly meme about what’s currently read, last finished and the next reads are going to be. The main goal is to exchange and interact within the community.

This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived here on Taking on a World of Words. Just answer the three questions below and leave a link to your post in the comments for others to look at. No blog? No problem! Just leave a comment with your responses. Please, take some time to visit the other participants and see what others are reading.
So, let’s get to it!

The Three Ws are

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

Bookish News in January

As I am finally back into a reading flow, I not only managed to finish reading a few books but I am not so bad on writing reviews either! However, I am excited to tell you from my current reads, the ones I finished last and my planned next to go reads.

As a side note, I don’t mention any plot, so it’s safe to go. The first books of both series’ are Spark of the Everflame and Queen of Roses – which I mention as my last read.

My Current Reads

Court of Claws (Blood of Fae #2) by Briar Boleyn

I’m currently around 50% in and it’s really fun so far. As of the first book being more dry and slow-burn, the second is faster going and there’s also some steamy romance and spice going on. After the first book, only the story kept me going but also the hope for it getting better. I wouldn’d call the first book bad, not at all. It was just.. slow-burn. And while I don’t always mind that, I think there’re various steps on how much slow-burn there can be.

Had lots of fun reading this one, new characters get introduced, great world-building, political intrugues and interesting plot overall.

I can absolutely recommend it for fans of Fae Fantasy stories with steamy romance, spice and an empathic MC couple.

Court of Claws (Blood of Fae #2) by Briar Boleyn
Heat of the Everflame (Kindred's Curse #3) by Penn Cole

Heat of the Everflame (Kindred’s Curse #3) by Penn Cole

I’m a bit over 600 pages out of the 1.000 – which is something I am not used to, so I’m proud to keep going on this one.

After Glow of the Everflame, which didn’t entirely satisfy me as much as Spark of the Everflame did, Heat it a great one so far.
Diem is still a great character I want to see the perspective from. Her development is fascinating and really exciting. She grew just so much of ther last 2 1/2 books and there’s still 1 1/2 to go.

If you like Fantasy with some steamy Romance and spice, I totally recommend Spark of the Everflame!


Recently finished

Queen of Roses (Blood of Fae #1) by Briar Boleyn

Queen of Roses is the first book of the Blood of Fae series with a total of 4 books.

If you like slow-burn with some spice, I can recommend. The world-building overall is great and the characters have their background and as a reader we can dive into them.

The slow-burn was too much for me, as I don’t always particularly mind it but it can get too much, which was the case here.

Queen of Roses (Blood of Fae #1) by Briar Boleyn
Court of Night (Shadow Fae #3) by C.N. Crawford

Court of Night (Shadow Fae #3) by C.N. Crawford

The Third book of the series goes on after book 2 ends.

For fans of Fae and Young Adult with not much focus on world building or character depth but at least a badass fighter that’s involved with some secret power, you can very much go ahead.

After reading the book without checking the description on Goodreads first, I think it does not really fit.

Court of Darkness (Shadow Fae #2) by C.N. Crawford

Court of Darkness follows directly after Court of Shadows, the first book of Shadow Fae.

A badass female main character with friends and their own very secrets, Arianna has to fight for her live again as the trials continue.

As of right now, the review for Court of Darkness is online!

There’re nude scenes involved, but anything spice gets skipped.

Court of Darkness (Shadow Fae #2) by C.N. Crawford
Court of Shadows (Shadow Fae #1) by C.N. Crawford

Court of Shadows (Shadow Fae #1) by C.N. Crawford

Court of Shadows part of the Shadow Fae Institute series and also part of the Demon of Fire and Night Universe.

Arianna has to join some trials of survival to get her place in the institute and get her friend free and out of the claws of her former mentor.

There’s already a review for Court of Shadows available.

The world-building and character depth aren’t that deep, there’re only some romance hints, everything else gets blacked out as it’s Young Adult.


Next reads

Empress of Fae (Blood of Fae #3) by Briar Boleyn

So far I can only say I’m curious on what happens in this third out of four books. As I think the books really improved so far, I’m excited for it’s release!

Also, Morgan as a character overall improved over the last two books.

Empress of Fae (Blood of Fae #3) by Briar Boleyn
Burn of the Everflame (Kindred's Curse #4) by Penn Cole

Burn of the Everflame (Kindred’s Curse #4) by Penn Cole

Heat of the Everflame is already a great read from my perspective. I’m not through it yet but Burn is very much waited for to get into it.

As I can’t wait to see what Diem is up for in the final book of the series and the pure thought of it makes me sad already. I just hope for Penn to publish more great books!
She’s one of the new authors I discovered in 2023, I really want to keep reading.


What are your current reads? Have you heard any of those? Do you plan reading any of them?


Join our blogging community

You may also like

4 comments

Amanda Kay January 18, 2024 - 11:36 am

Glad you’re back in a good reading flow & enjoying your current reads!

Reply
Samy January 18, 2024 - 11:51 am

Yes, thank you!

Reply
Dini @ dinipandareads January 18, 2024 - 2:24 pm

Looks like you had a pretty decent reading week! A lot of romantasy on here that I’ve never heard of but all of them have very pretty covers 🙂 I hope you enjoy all your reads!

Reply
Samy January 18, 2024 - 2:42 pm

Yeah! Me neither tbh. I only discovered both series’ through ARC reads. Fae Blood, I even failed to read in time, since they made the first two books available when the third one got released as ARC. I just thought of going for it, since I already requested them. Late or not and it’s been fun so far!

They for sure have! I like the development of the Kindred’s Curse Saga covers a lot!

Thank you!

Reply

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More